FeelsBlog: Before I Lose My Nerve (This is NOT About You) by Layla S. Tanjutco

To be honest, I wasn’t a fan of poems. Especially of a collection of poems that costs as much as a novel. I feel like I wouldn’t get much for the price I paid. I mean, a few short lines in a page? I could read the collection in one hour.

But boy, was I so, SO WRONG.


This collection of poems from Layla was like packing up my words into shells and loading them all up into a revolver aimed at my heart. 

And with each line, each page, each poem I read… was like taking those bullets point-blank.

Layla’s poems are the perfect example of how words could cut so deeply.

I’ve been in a steady relationship for 14 years yet reading Before I Lose My Nerves wrenched my heart and my gut.

I finished the collection in a few minutes. But doing so left me with raw emotions I had to share it with someoneβ€”a colleague sitting next to me.

We ended up buying print copies.

You should, too.

Here’s the link to the author’s page where you can order the book:

http://laylatanjutco.com/

Layla S. Tanjutco edits technical reports by day and romance novels by night. She likes the color purple and is a big fan of mint chocolate chip ice cream. She often wishes that there are more than 24 hours in a day, and that sleep is completely optional.

Leave a Reply

